We contribute to the development of certain sectors of the mining and metallurgical industry of the Republic of Kazakhstan by implementing projects jointly with strategic investors

Exploration and production of Tungsten and Molibdenum Ore at Upper Kairakty Deposit in Karagandy Region

Karagandy Region

Type of Minerals

Major Elements: Tungsten (W)

Associated Elements: Molibdenum (Mo)

Infrastructure and Description of the Area

Administratively, Upper Kairakty mine is located in Shet district of Karagandy region, 35 km from the railway station Jaryk. The deposit is located in a favorable geographical and economic conditions in the vicinity of transport and energy communications. 130 km to the north of the deposit there is a major regional and industrial center – Karagandy city. From the deposit to Agadyr village, located 65 km south-west of a road are 6 km of technological road and 59 km asphalted road. From the deposit Upper Kairakty to Northern Katpar deposit the dumping paintings made by the railroad with bridges and drainages length of about 42 km. In the vicinity of the open-pit the administrative building is located (parts of administrative buildings are remained) .In Upper Kairakty village there are incomplete construction of apartment buildings (the boxes). The nearest fuel and energy base is the Karagandy coal basin (160 km). In 200 km northwest distance the Shubarkul coal deposit is being developed, which can provide all enterprises of the district. External energy supply of the future may be provided by transmission lines - 500 kV «Balkhash-Karagandy» or «Pavlodar-Central Asia» from the substation of the enterprise Agadyr. Water supply is carried out by groundwater Jaman-Sarysu and Zhaksy-Sarysu deposits with approved reserves of 130 thousand m3/day, Aktasty reservoir and the channel Irtysh-Karaganda-Zhezkazgan.

The climate of the region is a zone of dry steppes and differs sharply continental. Summers are hot and dry with little precipitation; autumn is dry, frost; Spring is short (1-2) months with a fairly high rainfall; Winter lasts about 150 days, with persistent severe winds. The average annual temperature is 2.90; in summer it rises to +37, in winter t drops to -40.

Brief Description

According to the gravity survey, the deposit is located in the zone of the granite massif on-intrusive size 17x5 km from the upper limit of 2.2 km and the lower 6-7 km. Industrial ore bodies are confined to the stockwork, formed by a series of steeply dipping quartz veins and veinlets, lying deep in the altered sedimentary rocks. General outline of the stockwork zone is 10X18 km and rare-metal productive part covers an area of 2300 m2. Tungsten mineralization is developed from the surface to a depth of 750-800 m. The molybdenum mineralization tends to lower horizons. According to geological conditions of the mine development, the deposit is related to the group of average complexity. The mineral composition of primary ore is very diverse and includes such main ore minerals such as scheelite, wolframite, molybdenite, bismuthine, pyrite, chalcopyrite, native bismuth and others. A special feature is the predominance of scheelite (over 80%).

Reserves/Resources and Brief Description of Geology

Reserves as of 01.01.2011 on categories A+B+C1 WO3 are 1 216,3 thousand tons (0.133%), Mo – 39,6 thousand tons (0.005%). The presence of rare earth elements increases the value of the main tungsten-molybdenum ore by 1,5-2 times.

Current Status and Summary of Planned Activities

In 2016, a contract was signed for the exploration and production of tungsten-molybdenum ores from the Upper Kairaktinskoye deposit in the Karaganda region. The deposit is included in the list of deposits of strategic importance.

A block model was created in the m / r of the Upper Kairakty, an expert evaluation of the block model is being completed.
Measures are being taken for sampling from the existing dumps in the Upper Kayrakty municipality and the development of a drainage project for the Upper Kairakty mine.

Teaser of Upper Kairakty Project

Фундаментальное улучшение траектории развития горнодобывающего и металлургического сектора в Казахстане

Разведка и добыча вольфрам-молибденовых руд месторождения Верхние Кайракты в Карагандинской области

Карагандинская область

Вид полезного ископаемого

Основной элемент: вольфрам (W), Попутные промышленные элементы: молибден(Mo), литий (Li)

Инфраструктура и краткое описание района

Административно месторождение Верхние Кайракты находится в Шетском районе Карагандинской области, в 35 км от железнодорожной станции Жарык. Месторождение располагается в благоприятных географо-экономических условиях, в непосредственной близости от транспортных и энергетических коммуникаций. В 130 км к северу от месторождения расположен крупный областной и промышленный центр – г. Караганда. От месторождения до поселка Агадырь, расположенного в 65 км, юго-западней проходит дорога, из которых 6 км технологическая и 59 км асфальтная. От месторождения Верхние Кайракты до месторождения Северный Катпар произведена отсыпка полотна под железную дорогу с мостами и водототводами протяженностью порядка 42 км. В непосредственной близости от карьера расположены площадки под АБК (часть АБК сохранились).В поселке Верхние Кайракты имеются незавершенное строительство многоэтажных домов (коробки). Ближайшей топливно-энергетической базой является Карагандинский угольный бассейн (160 км). В 200 км северо-западу разрабатывается Шубаркульское месторождение каменного угля, которое может обеспечить углем все предприятия района.Внешнее энергоснабжение будущего предприятия может быть обеспечено от ЛЭП-500кВ «Балхаш-Караганда» или «Павлодар-Средняя Азия» от подстанции Агадырь.Водоснабжение предприятия может быть осуществлено за счет подземных вод Жаман-Сарысуйского и Жаксы-Сарысуйского месторождений с утвержденными запасами 130 тыс. м3/сут. и Актастинского водохранилища канала Иртыш-Караганда-Жезказган.

В климатическом отношении район входит в зону сухих степей и отличается резкой континентальностью. Лето жаркое и сухое с незначительными осадками; осень сухая, с заморозками; весна короткая (1-2) месяца с довольно большим количеством осадков; зима продолжительностью около 150 дней, суровая с устойчивыми ветрами. Среднегодовая температура воздуха +2,90; летом она поднимается до +37, зимой опускается до -40.

Краткое описание объекта

По данным гравиметрической съемки месторождение находится в надинтрузивной зоне гранитного массива размером 17х5 км с верхней границей 2,2 км и нижней 6-7 км. Промышленные рудные тела приурочены к штокверку, сформированному серией крутопадающих прожилков и кварцевых жил, залегающих в толще измененных осадочных пород. Общий контур штокверковой зоны 10х18 км, а редкометальная продуктивная часть занимает площадь 2300 м2. Вольфрамовое оруденение развито с поверхности до глубины 750-800 м. Молибденовое оруденение тяготеет к нижним горизонтам. По инженерно-геологическим условиям разработки месторождение относится к средней группе сложности. Минеральный состав первичных руд весьма разнообразен и содержит такие основные рудные минералы как шеелит, вольфрамит, молибденит, висмутин, пирит, халькопирит, самородный висмут и другие. Особенностью является преобладание шеелита (более 80%).

Запасы/ресурсы и краткое описание геологии

Запасы по состоянию на 01.01.2011г. по кат. А+В+С1 WO3 - 1 216,3 тыс.т (0,133%), Мо – 39,6 тыс.т (0,005%). Присутствие редкоземельных элементов повышает ценность основных вольфрам-молибденовых руд в 1,5-2 раза.

Текущий статус и краткое изложение планируемых мероприятий

Направлена заявка на проведение прямых переговоров на предоставление права на совмещенную разведку и добычу. Контракт на недропользование планируется заключить в 2015 г.

Тизер по проекту Верхние Кайракты English version